Broker License Application Requirements

Depending on your background, you may have different education and test requirements. Select which category you fall under to see your requirements to become a registered broker.

You will need to have:

  • 168 hours of education (see below for a breakdown of hours), or
  • as a substitute, a degree from an accredited college or university with a major course of study in real estate – original transcripts must be provided upon application, however unofficial transcripts may be submitted if you haven't taken the broker’s exam yet
  • a passing grade in national and state portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker's Exam
  • complete a fingerprint background check

Education requirements by hours

  • 48 hours, Real Estate Law and Practice
  • 48 hours, Colorado Contracts and Regulations
  • 8 hours, Trust Accounts and Recordkeeping
  • 8 hours, Current Legal Issues
  • 24 hours, Real Estate Closings
  • 32 hours, Practical Applications

You will need to:

If you have two years of active experience, you qualify for the "Independent" or "Employing" license. If you have less than two years of active experience, you qualify for the associate broker, FA credential.

If you want to be certified at an employing level, you will need to:

You will need to:

  • education
    • salesperson: 120 hours of education (see below for a breakdown of hours)
    • broker: 72 hours of broker credential (see below for a breakdown of hours)
  • pass both the national and state portion of the Colorado Real Estate Broker's Exam
  • complete a fingerprint background check
  • provide your certified license history – must be dated within 90 days of your application and include disciplinary actions

If you have less than two years of active experience as a salesperson or broker, you qualify for the associate broker, FA credential.

Education requirements for a salesperson credential (120 hours of education)

  • 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations
  • 8 hours, Trust Accounts & Recordkeeping
  • 8 hours, Current Legal Issues
  • 24 hours, Real Estate Closings
  • 32 hours, Practical Applications

Education requirements for a broker credential (72 Hours)

  • 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations
  • 24 hours, Real Estate Closings

License issued after January 1, 1997

You will need to:

If you have two years of active experience, you qualify for the "Independent" or "Employing" license. If you have less than two years of active experience, you qualify for the associate broker, FA credential.

If you want to be certified at an employing level, you will need to:

License issued before December 31, 1996

You will need to have:

  • education
    • salesperson: 120 hours of education (see below for a breakdown of hours)
    • broker: 72 hours of broker credential (see below for a breakdown of hours)
  • a passing grade in national and state portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker's Exam
  • complete a fingerprint background check

If you have two years of active experience, you qualify for the Independent or Employing license. If you have less than two years of active experience, you qualify for the Associate Broker, FA credential.

If you want to be certified at an Employing level, you will need to:

Education requirements for a salesperson credential (120 hours of education)

  • 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations
  • 8 hours, Trust Accounts & Recordkeeping
  • 8 hours, Current Legal Issues
  • 24 hours, Real Estate Closings
  • 32 hours, Practical Applications

Education requirements for a broker credential (72 Hours)

  • 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations
  • 24 hours, Real Estate Closings

You can qualify for an Associate Broker, FA credential.

You will need to:

  • provide proof active valid law license with the license application
  • complete 12 hours of education in trust accounts, closing, and recordkeeping
  • pass both national and state portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker's Exam
  • complete a fingerprint background check

Was this Content Helpful?

Status message

× Don't include personal or financial information.