Appraiser Steps for Initial Licensure, Levels of Licensure and Certification





Colorado appraiser law and Board rules establish four levels of licensure which are summarized in more detail below. A license or certification is issued when an individual meets the education, examination and experience requirements for that level of licensure.


Levels of Licensure

Licensed Ad Valorem Appraiser

This level of licensure is only utilized for appraiser employees of county tax assessment offices. 

Licensed Appraiser

The Licensed Appraiser credential allows the appraiser to appraise non-complex 1-4 unit residential properties having a transaction value of less than $1 million and complex 1-4 unit residential properties having a transaction value of less than $400,000. 

Certified Residential Appraiser

The Certified Residential Appraiser credential allows the appraiser to appraise 1-4 unit residential properties without regard to transaction value or complexity. The credential includes the appraisal of vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for 1-4 family purposes or for which the highest and best use is for 1-4 family purposes, but does not include land for which a subdivision analysis is necessary. 

Certified General Appraiser

The Certified General credential allows the appraiser to appraise all types of real property.

Steps for Initial Licensing

Step 1: Complete Your Education and Experience Requirement

Complete required education

Complete appraisal report experience log or mass appraisal experience log (If Applicable)

Step 2: Complete the Background Check Requirement

A person applying for a new license or an upgraded license is required to submit fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) prior to submitting the application.

Step 3: Submit Application and Materials

Submit your application and supporting documents to the Division of Real Estate.

Online License Application

Step 4: Take and Schedule the Exam

After you have received your Letter of Exam Eligibility you can schedule your exam.
(Not applicable for Ad Valorem Licensees)

Contact PSI Candidate Care Center at 855-744-0313 to make an exam reservation.

An applicant who arrives at the testing facility without a copy of the letter will not be allowed to take the exam.

Step 5: Acquire Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance

Obtain and submit compliant errors and omissions insurance. Errors and omissions Insurance requirements are defined in Board rule 6.10.

Step 6: Submit Examination Results

Notify Division of passed examination along with any required documents that have not yet been submitted. Once staff has verified the examination results, the license or certification credential will be issued.


Was this Content Helpful?

Status message

×Don't include personal or financial information.