Division of Real Estate License Renewal Notification

#FFFFFF

License Renewal Reminders

The Division of Real Estate license renewal period starts November 1, 2022, and continues through December 31, 2022. Expired licensees may not conduct any business that requires licensure. If your license is inactive, you must still renew your license if you wish to maintain the inactive status and avoid reinstatement fees.

As a reminder, many E&O insurance policies expire on January 1, 2023. Please be sure to check your policy’s expiration date and renew your policy before it expires. A failure to renew your insurance policy could result in license inactivation and/or loss of prior acts coverage.

Program Specific Directions

#FFFFFF
Continuing Education Requirements

Real Estate Broker licensees who received their initial license in 2022, will not need to complete any CE prior to renewing on December 31, 2022.

New Brokers (license issued between 01/01/2022 and 10/31/2022)

During this initial licensure period, the newly licensed broker will not have any need to complete any continuing education. 

Transition Period Brokers (Moving all Brokers to a 12/31 expiration date)

During the transition period, licensees may complete two (2) different versions of the Annual Commission Update (ACU) Course to satisfy the eight (8) hours of mandated education pursuant to section 12-10-213(1)(b), C.R.S.  Example: if you renewed last in 2020 and now expire 12/31/2022, you would fall into the Transition Period and would most likely need to take only the 2021 and 2022 ACU. 

Brokers must also complete an additional sixteen (16) hours of elective credit hours to meet the 24-hour total continuing education requirement during the transition period.

Three-Year License Cycle.

Twelve (12) of the 24 hours must be comprised of three (3) different versions of the four-hour (4) Annual Commission Update Course.  For those renewing on 12/31/2022, that would be an ACU for 2020, 2021, and 2022.  The remaining twelve (12) hours can be any combination of elective credit hours approved by the Commission.

Annual Commission Update (ACU)

Annual Commission Update courses are mandatory.  Once the course year has passed, that version cannot be made up. In this case, you will need to investigate alternative ways to meet the continuing education requirements. The options include:

  • Completing the 24-hour Broker Reactivation Course (permitted once every other license cycle).
  • Completing and passing the State portion of the Colorado Broker's Exam.
  • 48 Hours in Colorado Contracts & Regulations and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings (for a total of 72 hours).

Broker Continuing Education

Renewal Fee

There is a 31-day grace period for renewal submission without incurring penalty fees. To avoid late fees, please renew your license prior to your renewal expiration date.

Deadline Reminder

January 31, 2023, is the last day to renew your license. Failure to renew on or before this date will result in the expiration of your license.

Online License Management Renewal Steps and Login Instructions

Log in to your online license management account to start the renewal process.

  1. Select "Online Services" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From that menu, select "Renew/Reinstate Your License".
  2. Follow the prompts. Once payment has been submitted, print your receipt. A receipt will also be emailed to the address designated during the payment process. The Division will not provide payment receipts.
  3. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for your new license to generate in the online portal. You may confirm the update to your expiration date within your E-license account by selecting the "License Information" tab in the "Home" area of your account.

Start your License Renewal (available on November 1st)

Password Retrieval (Lost Password)

  1. Select the "Forgot Password" link just under the "Log In" button in the Division's licensing portal.
  2. Enter your User ID and click "Next"
  3. Answer your security questions, then click "Next"
  4. Enter a new password.
Continuing Education Requirements

All Continuing Education requirements for renewing licensees must be completed and uploaded to NMLS by your education provider by December 31, 2022.

Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education

Renewal Fee

Renewal in both the NMLS database and in Colorado's licensing database must be completed on or before December 31, 2022, to avoid penalty fees.

Deadline Reminders

December 31, 2022, is the deadline for the submission of both the NMLS and Colorado-specific renewal applications. Failure to renew in both systems will result in license expiration effective January 1, 2023.

February 28, 2023, is the last day to reinstate an expired license. Failure to reinstate in both systems by this date will result in license termination.

Two-Step Renewal Process

There is a two-step renewal process for all Colorado mortgage loan originators. Licensees must first complete the continuing education requirement before renewal will activate within NMLS. 

The below steps are to be completed once your continuing education requirement has been met.

  1. Submit your renewal application in NMLS (available on November 1st, 2022).
    NMLS
  2. Once your NMLS renewal application has been submitted you may submit your Colorado renewal application. (available on November 1st, 2022)
Online License Management Renewal Steps and Login Instructions

Log in to your online license management account to start the renewal process.

  1. Select "Online Services" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From that menu, select "Renew/Reinstate Your License".
  2. Follow the prompts. Once payment has been submitted, print your receipt. A receipt will also be emailed to the address designated during the payment process. The Division will not provide payment receipts.
  3. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for your new license to generate in the online portal. You may confirm the update to your expiration date within your E-license account by selecting the "License Information" tab in the "Home" area of your account.

Start part two of your License Renewal (available November 1st)

Password Retrieval (Lost Password)

  1. Select the "Forgot Password" link just under the "Log In" button in the Division's licensing portal.
  2. Enter your User ID and click "Next"
  3. Answer your security questions, then click "Next"
  4. Enter a new password.
7-Hour USPAP Audit Reminder

Active licensed and certified appraisers must first complete the 7-hour USPAP audit process before renewal is activated within their license account. Appraiser licensees will receive an email with detailed instructions for USPAP submission once the audit has been opened. This process will begin on October 1st, 2022.

If you have any questions about the audit process, please contact the Division by email at dora_dre_appraisals@state.co.us.

Continuing Education Requirements

All Continuing Education requirements for renewing licensees must be completed by December 31, 2022. 

Appraiser Continuing Education

Deadline Reminder

It is recommended that licensees complete their USPAP audit submission as soon as possible and no later than December 16, 2022, to allow sufficient time for processing and avoid a lapse in licensure.

Renewal applications received after December 16, 2022, and prior to January 31, 2023, may be subject to the following:

  • An indication on the ASC's website that the license has expired (license will show inactive on the ASC's licensee search)
  • An audit of all 28 hours of continuing education required during the license cycle
  • Fines for any incomplete continuing education
  • Penalty fees for license reinstatement if the CE certificate review moves beyond the January 31 renewal submission deadline
Online License Management Renewal Steps and Login Instructions

Log in to your online license management account to start the renewal process.

  1. Select "Online Services" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From that menu, select "Renew/Reinstate Your License".
  2. Follow the prompts. Once payment has been submitted, print your receipt. A receipt will also be emailed to the address designated during the payment process. The Division will not provide payment receipts.
  3. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for your new license to generate in the online portal. You may confirm the update to your expiration date within your E-license account by selecting the "License Information" tab in the "Home" area of your account.

Start your License Renewal (available November 1st if your USPAP audit submission has been approved)

Password Retrieval (Lost Password)

  1. Select the "Forgot Password" link just under the "Log In" button in the Division's licensing portal.
  2. Enter your User ID and click "Next"
  3. Answer your security questions, then click "Next"
  4. Enter a new password.
Appraisal Management Company Renewal Process and Panel Appraisers

Appraisal Management Company (AMC) renewals will be available beginning November 1, 2022, for licenses expiring on December 31, 2022. The renewal application will include the collection of data regarding an AMC's panel appraisers for the reporting period beginning November 1, 2021, and ending on October 31, 2022. All renewing AMCs will need to have this information available in order to complete the renewal application form.

Deadline Reminder

January 31, 2023, is the last day to renew your license. Failure to renew on or before this date will result in the expiration of your license. Please note that renewal submissions made after December 31st may result in your license showing inactive on the ASC's AMC registry.

Online License Management Renewal Steps and Login Instructions

Log in to your online license management account to start the renewal process.

  1. Select "Online Services" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From that menu, select "Renew/Reinstate Your License".
  2. Follow the prompts. Once payment has been submitted, print your receipt. A receipt will also be emailed to the address designated during the payment process. The Division will not provide payment receipts.
  3. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for your new license to generate in the online portal. You may confirm the update to your expiration date within your E-license account by selecting the "License Information" tab in the "Home" area of your account.

Start Your License Renewal (available November 1st)

Password Retrieval (Lost Password)

  1. Select the "Forgot Password" link just under the "Log In" button in the Division's licensing portal.
  2. Enter your User ID and click "Next"
  3. Answer your security questions, then click "Next"
  4. Enter a new password.
Subdivision Developer Renewal Process

Subdivision Developer renewals will be available beginning November 1, 2022, for licenses expiring on December 31, 2022. 

Deadline Reminder

December 31, 2022, is the last day to renew your license. Failure to renew on or before this date will result in the termination of your license, and Subdivision Developers may not market in the State of Colorado if the renewal process is not completed.  

Online License Management Renewal Steps and Login Instructions

Log in to your online license management account to start the renewal process.

  1. Select "Online Services" from the upper right-hand corner of the screen. From that menu, select "Renew/Reinstate Your License".
  2. Follow the prompts. Once payment has been submitted, print your receipt. A receipt will also be emailed to the address designated during the payment process. The Division will not provide payment receipts.
  3. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for your new license to generate in the online portal. You may confirm the update to your expiration date within your E-license account by selecting the "License Information" tab in the "Home" area of your account.

Start Your License Renewal (available November 1st)

Password Retrieval (Lost Password)

  1. Select the "Forgot Password" link just under the "Log In" button in the Division's licensing portal.
  2. Enter your User ID and click "Next"
  3. Answer your security questions, then click "Next"
  4. Enter a new password.
#FFFFFF

Was this Content Helpful?

Status message

×Don't include personal or financial information.